Welcoming April

Mynte 253pxAfter last week I wanted to stop, catch my breath, and say welcome and thank you! Welcome to the new subscribers, and thanks for following Upstream Politics. Thanks also for praying for me this last week.

As I write there’s an ebb and flow to my posts and my energy. At times reading the news and looking through all the information is overwhelming, and I have to pause, pray, and take the next step with the next post.

If you’re curious to know a little more about what I’m doing and who I am, you can check out the About and the BBB pages. As I wrote on the About page, a primary goal of the Left has always been to replace home and family with the state. The Left would make all that is personal, political, and as a woman, a wife, and a mother, I’m cognizant of the bitter aftermath this would leave in its wake.

That’s why my writing is centered on issues, not only to identify and counter the gambits of the Left, but preempt them through discussing what is important to our well-being as individuals and a country—identifying priorities and subjects, and thinking through why they are important and what can be done to strengthen them.

I hadn’t planned on this structure, but I’ve found that my posts have for the most part been thematic. Rather than going back and forth between issues, I’ve stayed with a topic until I thought I’d laid foundational analysis or information about each. That doesn’t mean I won’t return to them, but because it takes time to read and think about a subject, it’s been easier for me to stay in one at a time when I begin writing about it.

There are numerous pages and sub-pages in the heading,  and from time to time I’m adding information and links there even when I’m not posting on them. I also continue to work on building resource links in the sidebar. So check those out when you want to know more about a specific topic.

Even though the SCOTUS hearings are finished, I’m not yet done writing about marriage. I’ve discussed a few of the thoughts in What Is Marriage? Man and Woman: A Defense, but so much has happened in the news on marriage I haven’t had a chance to go into detail on all the ideas presented in it—and it’s an invaluable resource.

Family and home touch each of us deeply whether or not we’re married and whether or not we have children. To strengthen them is to strengthen the personal bonds we each have with one another. To strengthen them is to strengthen our neighborhoods, our communities, and our nation. They’re worth defending. I gain in my perspective and confidence as I reflect and write about these issues, and my goal in the things I write and in choosing those whom I quote is to give you tools that are gain to you.
__________
Mynte: cropped from original by cyclonebill. Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license.

What are your thoughts?

