Where Have You Been?

Welcome to new readers wondering why there are hardly any posts up during the last few months, and to old ones who have been thinking the same.

In case you missed An Unexpected Hiatus, two days after I wrote Ted Cruz: Constitution Man in March, I fell and broke both arms. I’ve had arm surgery, recovery in a nursing/rehab facility, and now I’m going to physical therapy. After initial optimism, my surgeon is now doubtful as to how much range of motion I’ll regain in my right arm—that elbow joint has two pins in it—but my physical therapist still fights the battle. I’ll also soon be wearing a brace that rachets out to gradually increase my arm extension.

It’s been difficult to use my computer—it’s been only a few weeks I’ve been able to type without painful elbow jars, and it’s still uncomfortable to type for any length of time. I’ve been online with twitter because I can use my phone to do retweets and brief comments. If you want my current thinking you can find it in the sidebar!

The very few posts I’ve done since March have been reposting and tweaking old ones. I’ve found it’s not just my ability to type, but also exhaustion. I’ve had to shelve re-editing my propanda series, and I’ve started drafts, but the energy hasn’t been there for finishing them for publishing! If only you could sit down with me, and we could talk!

Pamphleteer stampThis is the Pamphleteer stamp published for the Bicentennial. Bloggers have been called modern-day pamphleteers, and this is also a reminder of how important it is for us to be not only informed of current events, but to read about our American heritage and the whys and wherefores of our nation.

In Reagan’s Farewell Speech he charged us:

“If we forget what we did, we won’t know who we are. I’m warning of an eradication of the American memory that could result, ultimately, in an erosion of the American spirit. Let’s start with some basics: more attention to American history and a greater emphasis on civic ritual.”

Sadly, too many have forgotten what we did, and don’t know who we are, and that eradication of the American memory and erosion of the American spirit prevails in too many. However, that American spirit can be regained. Almost two hundred years ago, in 1818 John Adams tells us not only how it began, but how the American spirit is to be continued.

“But what do we mean by the American Revolution? Do we mean the American war? The Revolution was effected before the war commenced. The Revolution was in the minds and hearts of the people; a change in their religious sentiments of their duties and obligations.”

I continue to be very grateful to God for His sustaining help, and I’m very thankful for my family. I would appreciate your prayers for my ongoing healing. Please continue to pray with me in petitioning God for his mercy and grace in this great time of need for our nation.

Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Where Have You Been?

  1. Sorry to hear of your misfortunes, INC, but good to hear that you are still fighting the good fight.

    My prayers shall be for your recovery and strengthening and that physically, mentally, and above all, spiritually.

    It is a part of our lives in this vail of tears that sufferings and misfortunes will beset us. But we know that we have a Petitioner on High to whom
    we can appeal for comfort, grace, and sustaining strength. And we are assured that here we have no lasting city nor are our troubles permanent but there remains a rest for us in His arms if we remain faithful to the end.

    May God bless you in all your endeavors.

  2. Thank you so much for your encouragement! Truths I know, but it helps so much to hear them again from someone else who understands the battle.

What are your thoughts?

